What the (my) world needs is... (warning: sampler)

I’ve been producing for many years, quiet a few good times and releases, and many many good gigs as a dj…

Enter digitakt (late to the DT party), and the past week has been super fckn rad. I’m 85% producer-in-the-studio normally, and I’m back in hands-on frenzy sequencer wise, and love it.

I’ve now spent said week g’ing up samples and loops from my lovely collection of gear and have the full plan for my live use with it sorted… but…

Double BUT:

I want more. I want:

Independent outputs (for a live set specifically).

I want:

Kick: processing, but mainly gentle bus sidechain comp of most parts (via ext hw comp);
Clap / Snare: separate fx send on a mixer for builds (I love other hw fx I have for this… not all DT verb/delay;
HH: same as kick snare for random reverb flushes and builds;
“Other”… maybe up to 8 total separate outs… but particularly keen on main hits…

Do I want these from DT?? No… it’s super fckn rad as is… I just want a good affordable HW sampler for basic hits with multiple outs for mixer / mixing flexibility.

So: yes: old akai. Yes, but too old and clunky and getting unreliable… honestly: it is, and it’s too sketchy for a live set. Mpc live? Sure, but that’s a lot of kit for something I can sequence from the DT…

Double so:

“The world needs”: a universal multi out (e.g. 8 mono / stereo configurable) basic sampler, without bells and whistles (pads/sequencers) with maybe only 4-8 outs for basic editing, but also a usb port or two for class compliant controllers to enter the guts.

Imagine the 8 midi tracks on the DT controlling loops and hits on a mini expander?! Want synths to from DT? Route expander outputs separately, but use only one or two DT midi tracks to control.

Super old tech.

Expander expander expander… do it.

Much respect,

Bam x

1 Like

Have you checked Octatrack ?
Or even better in your case, Analog Rytm mk2, that can be seen as an upgrade of DT?

6 Likes