What do you use your MIDI footswiches/expression for (apart from looping)

I’m just learning the Octatrack and have connected a Pod HD500 to use as a MIDI controller, mainly for looping/pickup machines.

It has 10 footswitches and an expression pedal and the MIDI configuration is pretty good (can send note out, cc’s etc.) I’m still getting my head around the pickup machines so I’m not sure yet how many I’ll use for that (i.e. not sure whether to have 3 switches to record the separate inputs or just 1 for combo record).

I want to have switches for channel up/down/mute but that will leave at least 5 or so spare and an expression pedal. Any favourite uses for pedals (esp. the expression)?

Scene select, crossfader on expression pedal, mutes, arm one shots…

1 Like

aha thanks! I was wondering how I’d use it across multiple channels but the scene/crossfade is perfect. Haven’t used one shot trigs yet so I’ll check them out. Just starting to get my head around this amazing machine.

The footswitch signal to start REC on a pickup machine also works for a flex. I use it for that.

Many midi pedalboards have banks, yours doesn’t?

It’s not just a pedalboard, it’s a guitar FX unit. It has banks for the internal effects presets but I think the MIDI assignments can only be set in one way.

1 Like

Thanks. Is that the combo record signal? I’m still not sure if I should be using that or the specific ab/cd/src3 ones (I’m likely to want to use it to sample different inputs).

Look up the midi implementation chart at the end of the manual. All the information you need to make your decisions is in there.

I never print out manuals because of the convenient search functionality a pdf provides, but I have printed out all of the midi implemention charts of all the gear I use. It’s all in a binder for quick reference and it helps a lot when designing and debugging the midi network routing.

1 Like