I am trying to make a live set project using kits and patterns from a different project. At first I dumped the sysex data for each of them and loaded those in the correct order to the new project. This unfortunately does not load back the samples used in those kits. I would like to use Overbridge to load back in the samples to the new project.
I am using Reaper for my DAW and I am on OB 1.15 and RYTM is on 1.31B. It seems the options for total recall are limited and non intuitive. I can sync the current loaded kit from the RYTM into the DAW. However once I switch to another pattern with a new kit, the kit changes instantly in OB. There was nothing stating the first kit was saved or asking me where to save it. How am I supposed to recall this from the DAW back into the RYTM?
Not sure about OB in this situation but if you save each pad to the sound pool Rytm will load the sample along with the kit when transferred to another project.
yeah, OB sync directions are sometimes a mystery. Try to toggle the sync buttons in OB’s VST window:
If total recall was enabled switch it off to force the machine to its sync dialog. Now you can choose in which direction a recall will run. ‘Sync now’ will save the current status to DAW.
So saving each track to the sound pool will make it so I can export the Kit+Pattern sysex and it will link back the sample to the sample pool in a different project when I send back that sysex from C6?
I’ll have to check on this since I don’t remember seeing so many options. I can basically enable OB mode or USB mode from the RYTM and I don’t see anything about Total Recall on the device, yet I have seen screenshots showing otherwise (maybe that was on an A4?). In the VST I remember seeing a Sync Now but nothing about which direction.
I’ve been playing with this lately. Just trying to wrap my head around it and I’ve lost a lot of work in the process. I almost thought about a total recall help sheet because there are definite do’s and don’ts. For instance it confused me for a while how to get back to to the machine state after recalling from OB. It made it really clear to me for the first time how important it is to ‘save project’ on the device. If you recall in OB after having done a bunch of stuff on the machine without saving the project, it’s gone. Sounds simple but it took me a while to piece together. And then to simply get back to your previous work prior to recall you just load the project again
I’m not across how OB handles samples though, my impression was ‘not at all’ so following this thread with interest
I haven’t done any sysex dumps so I can’t confirm that. However, if I’m in Project A and I save a BD to the sound pool then I copy that kit to Project B it will bring that sample along with it because now linked to a sound rather than just a kit.