Thematic structure of compositions

Hi everyone, I’m new to Octatrack and I come from a different world, both for the music and for the mediums to use, but I am fascinated by this prospect of contaminating traditional pop or starting with a new genre. A bit the way Radiohead has come. I have a lot of material to convert and I don’t know if I will start from there and completely from scratch. I started with Digitakt and Digitone and it went well. I have now moved on to the initial objective: Octatrack and coming soon A4.
With Octatrack it took a bit of mental reset to get into the machine and I must say that even though it is still halfway through the work, I find it more complex to use than complicated to understand but I am a computer musician since 1980 so no problem.
I enclose a diagram that I have developed as a work plan to use the compositions in Octatrack. What do you think? Am I underestimating something? After all, if I understand correctly, the project is the level in which to enclose the “song”. Moving the lower level begins to tighten the space of action and going higher it becomes all dispersive. If you feel like it, I’d like to understand how you think.

1 Like

You can, of course, work this way if you want.

Some people, perhaps with less complex compositions, might not need (for example) sixteen different patterns for an introduction and so could fit more elements of a song into a single bank and therefore have more than one song (perhaps an entire album or live set) in a project.

7 Likes

In one bank, you can have 4 parts, meaning different sample slots or different parameter settings.
Taking advantage of slices and conditional trigs and/or pattern length pr track is imo the better way of arranging sections of a composition. This way you could utilize your composition in 4 parts, each with 4 patterns available within one bank aka one “song”.