The right mixer, the journey MTK + Inserts

Hello all,

Please note, I am new to ALL of this. However, I am determined to learn with some good guidance

I have been doing a LOT of research and I am a little stumped.

I have a B X1222USB which i found out only has 2/2 Track USB.

What I would like is the following:

• Multi Track USB Mixer

• Insert

I have been looking at the soundcraft mk12. Now, of course you have ask me WHY I would need inserts as you are meant to control all the effects via the software, hence the Multi Track USB.

Well. If I do use software, is the audio after being processed send back to the mixer the phone connection?

What am I using all this work.

• 2 computer audio
  • Streaming (LIVE TV)
  • Recording interviews
  • Other things (Music, creative sounds etc…)

Thank you all for patience

Welcome to The forum!

I was looking at the MTK a while ago myself. I copied this from their recording guide…

Console channels always send their post-gain, pre-EQ signal to their respective USB channel to be picked up and recorded by the PC/MAC Via USB. The 2-track (Master Left/Right) output uses the last 2 USB channels on each console and is always actively sending post fader level down the USB stream.

So my understanding is the signal comes into the desk and through the gain pot before being sent to USB. The Return signal will patch in before the eq section and fader. You could buy a patchbay and route your desk inputs through that (so you could insert FX) but any FX would then be ‘printed’ to the recording. If you want post USB inserts my guess is you’d need to use a separate multi channel interface and separate desk.

If you’re recording instruments and or vocals you could still have a patchbay on your inputs to the desk as you might want to compress the signal before it hits the desk but again, you wouldn’t be able to adjust those settings in mixdown.

Thank you for the information. It is a lot to take in but I am.