Synching Korg XD, Tempest with Octatrack

Hi all… I’m a relative newbie with the Octatrack but (mistly happily) ploughing my way through manual, vids, elektronauts forum. But I’d appreciate if anyone could help me fathom the best routing for the above as it’s causing me frustration.

I’m using Octatrack as master for the Tempest (midi out Octa - midi in Tempest), which is working pretty well. But I’m having problems trying to synch the Korg Xd, not helped by the fact it’s the module version for which I’m using my Bass Station II as the keyboard.

Leaving the BS II’s actual sounds out of the equation, I’d simply like to have the Octa, Tempest and XD playing together in synch.

Firstly, can this be done without having to screen dive into the Octa’s midi pages ?

I can play the Xd along with the Octatrack but am getting some strange results when cabling up via midi including seeing the BS II tempo hit 125 bpm while the tempo is playing at 120. I’ve also seen it stuck at 75 for some reason.

Tried delving into all the midi parametres on Tempest and XD but getting nowhere.

Any help, suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks

If you are running in to midi issues, try breaking things down first to simplify the connections and identify where the problem is. Example: Is clock sync from the bass station to the XD working without any other midi coming? Or try just connecting the Octatrack direct to the BS, etc.

1 Like

You will have to amend your plans or buy some extra equipment in order to achieve what you want.

Because neither the Minilogue XDM or the Tempest feature a MIDI Thru port, you cannot simply make a MIDI chain that starts with the OT and leads to the XDM and the Tempest.

Without additional equipment, you could use the Tempest as the master:

• connect Tempest MIDI Out to OT MIDI In
  • connect OT MIDI Thru to XDM MIDI In