Super Compact Physical Modeling Modular (w/Octatrack)

So, I’m just doing some preliminary research, but the gist of it is that I have been wanting to sequence another “small” box with the OT. I’ve thought about the uses/functionality of this box and have decided that I’d like to accompany the OT and my string instrument/mic inputs with a single-voice synthesizer.

I’ve discovered over time that as far as synthesized sounds go, I like the “organic” nature/sounds of physical modeling synthesis the most (though I definitely like the ability of PM synthesis to get more “unreal” sounds as well). Out of all the Ableton synths, I tend to reach for Collision or Tension first.

Anyway, these ideas coupled with striving for the most compact setup I can manage (while still doing what I want to do) has led me to thinking that a TINY bit of modular might be a cool way to go. I have yet to find a really compact desktop PM synthesis machine that suits my needs in this way. I’m a complete noob at modular, so it’s a little intimidating, but …

I’m thinking a nicely compact setup for my needs would be Mutable Instruments Elements coupled with Yarns (plus power obviously). That’s it. I have enough in the way of acoustic/electric instruments plus the OT, so I’m not really interested in expanding the modular stuff, as I plan to gig with it (portability and all).

So, I’d be interested in hearing other’s experience and thoughts on sequencing a modular synth with the OT (I’ve started to scan other topics related to this) and particularly the idea behind a finite and very compact modular setup or really any compact synth which does PM synthesis similar to Elements.

2 Likes

Hi.

I use the expert sleepers fh-1 and a legacy Iconnect Midi as bridge between my OT and some VCO´s in my small euro rig.
I sequence the VCO from my midi tracks and use the audio tracks for drums/perc and and other stuff.