Suggestion for another piece of gear

Hi all
I currently have a digitakt / digitone combo which I love.
I would like to expand it with an analogue synth.
I found a good deal on an analog four mk1…
Is it still a good piece of gear or should I start saving some money to get the mark 2?
Thanks

1 Like

Classic. I did exactly the same thing but added Analog Keys instead. Ended up not liking the sound much, but others love it, so don’t let that put you off. But it could be useful to get a list of your needs so people can make alternative suggestions that might suit you better or just as well, etc etc. So, analog synth, check. But should it be polyphonic and, if so, how many voices? Or monophonic? Should it be multitimbral to play different sounds together (like your DN)?

You already have quite a bit of menu diving going on. Do you want a trad knob per function analogue synth or are happy with menus?

2 Likes

Hi
Effectively I did not specify a lot of things.
First…I am a total newby in the electronic music world and basically the DT and DN are my first serious piece of gear (I used to have some volcas before the elektron…).
I love te moog sound. I have a good deal also on a mother 32 and am really tempted…
However I would prefer to have the polyphony option (this is why the moog might not be an option). I thought about the analog four because I am already used (well…still a lot to learn…) to the elektron workflow…
This is why the choices narrowed down to the two versions of the analog four…
As far as the music is concerned I love loeffler, rival consoles, Jon Hopkins, james Holden…
Just to name a few…
What would you suggest? Thanks

Buy nothing.

But you knew someone would eventually show up and say that.

10 Likes

Pick up a cheap Behringer Deepmind 12. It will cover all of your polyphonic analogue synth territory and more.

2 Likes

That is why the moog is temptative…

Ahahah…
My wife gave the same suggestion…maybe you are right…

6 Likes

I do not know it…