Sounds and Samples / Pool and +Drive - A Visual Aid

After reading the manual a bunch of times over and experimenting with the Digitakt, I realized a visual representation would help me understand it better. Also seeing a lot of topics over time that asked these similar questions made me create this in hoping it would answer a lot of the newbie questions. What’s a sample vs sound? What’s the sound pool? ETC.

Here’s the visual (clearly I’m not a graphic designer…) and I hope it helps.

Any feedback for changes is welcomed!

18 Likes

Nice explanation!!

Nice work, and is even a helpful reference/reminder to someone like me who has had some time with the Digitakt.

Nice work!

Should T2 have Sample C?

Best regards,

Gino

No, I was only trying to illustrate what gets replaced when you use a sound lock. T2 is using Sample B in the project.

Guys how are you?

Let me try to summarize something for me and you and tell me if I’m wrong:

1 - All the SOUNDS in DT are actually altered SAMPLES. So a SAMPLE is always the root of a SOUND?

2 - If I want to bring a SAMPLE to the SOUNDPOOL I just copy it there and it becomes a SOUND even though it sounds the same?!

3 - Is this the reason why I don’t find any of my imported or factory SAMPLES neither in the SOUNDPOOL nor on the +DRIVE (A-H)?

4 - What do I do, if I want to put all of my imported TR-808 SAMPLES directly on the +DRIVE under i.e. category “G”?

Do I have some fundamental misunderstandings about all of this or do I get it slowly right?

Thanks to all of you and have a great day!

Luke

Hi @LukeKeywalker sorry about the delay in response - I stopped receiving notifications and have been away from the forum for a while.
To answer your questions.

1. Yes the root of a sound is a sample.
  2. You cannot load a sample into the sound pool - this is for sounds only. Samples exist in RAM.
  3. Yes those are sound pool banks.