Shortcut to program change send/receive

Does anyone uses a shortcut to control program change behavior on the OT?
I have some songs where I want to change patterns individually, and others where they need to follow tightly…

I was thinking about some midi event processor that could block the midi channel that carries the program change messages. and then control this from a midi controller? I have no experience with midi event processors, but in my mind this would make sense…

any other way to do this so I don’t have to dive in the menu every time I want to change? I know, it is not very far in the menu, but still, in a live set it would be awesome to have 1 button for this :smiley:

and please don’t tell me (or please do) that there is a simple CC message for that! haven’t seen it…

What is your question exactly ? Why sending a program change to block it ?

I’m having a hard time understanding your issue. Do you mean that you would like to trigger some patterns manually, but some you want to group together?

If this is the case you can chain patterns together by holding PATTERN and pressing and holding each patter you want in order to tie them together. Otherwise it sounds like you may want to explore the Arrranger.

I mean between different machines. I have a chain with analog rytm > octatrack > digitone.
The AR is set to send program change, and the DN to receive. So if I check the send and receive boxes on the octatrack, all 3 machines changes patterns together. this is what I sometimes want, and other times I want to change patterns separately on each machine.

To do this I have to go to project > midi > sync > check or uncheck send and receive. This is not the end of the world, but in a live situation I would like to do this with just a flick of a button.

1 Like

When you want them all together you send pc and when not, you change manually. No need to block pc to not change…