Record length changing "randomly"

I hope someone here can enlighten me. I’ll just say quick that I’m a noob on octatrack but quite tech savvie and have delved deep already, however I’m having this oddness occur and it’s doing my head in…

I have 4x Pickup machines, two set to 32 steps record length and two set to 64 steps. other tracks are flex and master, slicing up the buffers recorded on 1-4. I’ll be jamming away looping various bits on different tracks on perhaps a couple of tracks, then the next track i loop onto ignores the length I have set (either 32 or 64 steps) and will loop over something ridiculous like 256 steps or 512, which is a coincidental amount of steps given multiples etc of 16. All my tracks are setup the same so I’m pulling hairs out figuring out why this is as I’d like it to loop how I have set it. This is for Live performance so quite important to solve.

Hi.
In REC SETUP 1, isn’t your recording RLEN set to MAX?
With MAX, without QREC, recording time can be 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,16,32,64,128,256,512,1024…

It should work as intended with 32 or 64 steps values.

Did you set REC SETUP 2 > QREC, QPLAY ?
Set to PLEN or 16, 32…it is useful to keep sequencer tempo.

all pattern lengths are the same for each track too

RLEN set to the amount of steps I want to record (ie, 32 and 64 on different tracks), QREC and QPLAY are both off so I can punch in overdubs without waiting. The odd thing is that sometimes it does what “it says on the tin”, sometimes it doesn’t. It’s usually track 3 that goes wierd but I’m not sure if that’s coincidence as that’s usually the last track I add things to

Check SRC/PLAYBACK page LEN (x1).

Forgive me for my noobism, how do I access SRC/PLAYBACK on Mk1? You think this might be my issue? Also, what am I looking out for? Thanks for the tips by the way!

LEN the loop length multiplier. It shouldbe set to x1.
PLAYBACK* page is the 1st of the 5 parameter pages under the screen.
Pretty sure that’s your issue.

*SRC for MKII