Question about saving Kits and the Sounds within them

Just got my Analog Rytm II. Some very good information out there (eg. Analog Rytm Kit Sound Pattern Save Project - Mega Tutorial by Cuckoo) as well as a bunch of “I think this is how it works…” responses in other threads. After reading a bunch of it, I’m still somewhat confused but think that I’ve formulated a question which looks at things in a bit of a different way.

Let’s say we start with a Kit which is comprised of 12 Sounds.
Next, I edit a bunch of those Sounds and save the Kit. We’ll call it Kit #1.
Now, I make a copy of that Kit and name it Kit #2.
With Kit #2 loaded, I change a bunch of the Sounds.
I save Kit #2
I do NOT save any of the individual Sounds

In conclusion, this is what I believe we have:

  • Even though the Sounds in Kit #1 and Kit #2 come from the same Sound file and share the same NAME, for all intents and purposes, they are actually two separate Sounds that are unique to each Kit.

  • If I make changes to the ORIGINAL Sounds that we started with in Kit #1 and save the Sounds… I’m not sure what happens, actually. I believe that the original Sound is separate and unique from the ones in Kit #1 and Kit #2. This is at the heart of my question here.

  • I do NOT need to make copies of each of the Sounds that I’ve changed in each Kit and rename them in order for them to remain “safe” from changes made in the other Kits

  • If I want to use an individual sound from Kit #2 in another Kit, I DO need to make a copy, re-name it and Load it into the new Kit.

I’d respectfully ask that you do NOT comment on this thread unless you are ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN of the correct answer. There is enough guesswork and uncertaintly in this question as it stands but I hope the correct answer might be helpful to others.

Yes, the sounds in kit 1 and the sounds in kit 2 are unique to each kit and have no association with the +drive saved sound at this point, they are part of the kits.

The only place the changes are saved are in the stored +drive sound.

However:
-If you made the changes while Kit 1 or Kit 2 was loaded then that kit will contain your changes but they are not saved to the kit unless you save it again…
-If you had loaded the sounds to a third kit, changed them, and saved them, Kit 1 and Kit 2 are unaffected…

Nope…

No need to rename it, just select the track on kit 2, press track+copy, go to the new kit, select the track and press track+paste…

:heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign::heavy_minus_sign:
Here’s a relevant clip from the manual:

-Basically a kit is 12 sounds, having nothing to do with the +drive, when you load a +drive sound to a kit it now becomes one of the kits 12 sounds…
-A kit doesn’t know anything about the +drive sounds, you could load a sound from the +drive to a kit and then delete that +drive sound, the kit would be fine… Kits don’t know about other kits…

So back to your example, the sound from Kit 1, the sound from Kit 2, and the sound saved on the +drive, are 3 separate unrelated things…
Hope this helps…

3 Likes

Muchos gracias, amigo!

I’ve tested most of these ideas but always feel as though I’m overlooking something or going to get bitten in the arse. It’s a bit of a strange way of working with these sorts of assets but once you understand it, there’s a fair bit of genius in it as well.

Cheers!!

1 Like