Question About Making More Interesting Music

When I got my Digitakt last fall, it started me down a path of learning how to make instrumental music. I’ve been playing and writing extensively for years, but all my other instrumentals were written with vocals in mind. The switch from traditional song forms to the ‘anything goes’ world of electronic/sample-based songwriting was unexpectedly challenging.

Since then I’ve made a lot of music and through that I’ve learned a ton about developing a short song section or loop into a full arrangement. I’m still learning, but I feel much more confident about that side of things. The part that I’m having trouble with right now is coming up with a more interesting loop to begin with. Most of the music I release now is “good enough”, but lacks that special something that makes it great, those elements that take it to the next level.

With all of that preamble out of the way, what are your tips for coming up with more interesting loops or song ideas right out of the gate, rather than working to take a “good enough” loop and develop that as far as it can go? I’m talking big-picture conceptual ideas that have taken your music from good to great. I’d love to hear what you all have to say about this!

1 Like

I always need a concept to inspire me to write music. Be it a movie, a book, a place or a feeling I need a strong motivator that I then try to turn into music. Maybe you’re concentrating too much on the technical side of songwriting? I mean there’s plenty of great, evocative songs that have a very minimal amount of things going on. Without that strange magic, they would be extremely boring.

4 Likes