Properly Connecting the Machinedrum + Monologue

Hi everyone,

Sorry if this is a basic topic that’s been asked to death, but cursory searches kept leaving me with questions. Hopefully someone here can help…

Basically, I have a MD and a Monologue, as well as an audio interface (Behringer U-Phoria) with a few ins and outs. What i’d like to do is set the MD as the master clock for the Monologue, make some jams, and then eventually throw them in to Ableton.

Right now I’m running both in to my audio interface, with the clock driving everything, though I’m curious if this is the “ideal” setup. Would it be better to use a mixer for some reason?

Also, once it’s time to record in to Ableton, I’m assuming I would just record them together, same as if I were multi tracking any other pair of instruments. Or would I have to feed Ableton extra info in regards to clock settings?

I’m completely new to setting up physical gear in this manner (thus far I’ve only had to dump my MD patterns in to Ableton), so any info would be supremely appreciated.

I would connect the Monologue’s audio output to the A/B inputs of the Machinedrum. You can use the machinedrum as a mixer and the machinedrum is one of the best fx units on the planet. If you have the UserWave version, you can do a lot with this setup alone.

For the midi part, you can connect both units, ‘out to in’ and ‘in to out’, depending on if you want to play your machinedrum with the keyboard and/or if you want to control or midi sync your Monologue from the MD! ( read the machinedrum manual, it has examples and clear explanations of different midi setups) You could start with a one way connection and get comfortable with that first!