Polyrhythms

I’m new to the octatrack and wondered how i would go about sequencing polyrthyms if its even possible? I tried to research online but i came across a lot of different information some of which was contradicting and potently out of date due to os updates.

1 Like

each track can run for a different number of steps, between 2 and 64 (the master can be as long as you want including infinite, in terms of repeats), you also have varying tempo dividers per track, so there’s a lot of polyrhythmic potential

You can not only do polyrythms, but also polymetric “stuff” using tempo multiplification and division. Or record and chop, you can do polywhatever in an MDUW using that ol’ trick!

1 Like

Ah thank you. Not quite sure what ho to do what you said but will use the manual to work it out!

Research resampling for yourself! When you get bored with that try ‘feedback’ in a less traditional sense, whole new planets full of sounds can come from exploring it.

Function+Page to open your step count/scale multipler window. Adjust to taste.

But but, first setup your pattern for individual track lengths! By default every pattern is set to have a global steplength.

1 Like

But but, first setup your pattern for individual track lengths! By default every pattern is set to have a global steplength.[/quote]
Good call. Mine be default is set that way. I tend to forget that step these days.

I haven´t explored this much:

What are you preference polyrhythm setup (in a “musical” sense)? I e, if and when making drumbeats.

4/4 against (insert time signature)?

Do you adjust microtiming alot too or just leave evrything as it is?
I kinda gets confused about how to think about the grid, whenever I´ve tried other settings.