Patterns disappearing on new digitone firmware

So I was worried I was going crazy as I wrote and thankfully recorded a whole song idea/pattern last night. Unfortunately now it seems to be completely missing from my digitone now, no idea what could have happened other than me turning it on and off, but the whole song and pattern I did yesterday is gone. which kind of sucks as I have no idea how to reproduce the song now, sigh.

Anyone else experiencing this? First time this has ever happened to me with the machine and I’ve been using it for like, 2-3 years. Usually you can just turn it off and it picks right back up at where you were before you turned it off, did the new firmware change that or something?

Don’t think it’d be anything to do with the new firmware, but it happened to me once, many years ago.

If it only did it the once, I’d say it was one of those very rare cases where it just doesn’t remember itself. If it’s done it a few times, I think you’d best open up a support ticket with Elektron.

1 Like

This just happened to me. Thankfully it was just a basic sketch of a beat and not an entire song.
I opened a new bank and started a beat on pattern 1, turned the machine off, then came back today and the pattern is gone. Time to start FUNC -> Save Pattern-ing before powering down.

For this to happen after 2-3 years…is a testament to how good the Digitone is. I have had the DN also for 2-3 years and have had fewer than a handful mess-ups. And no problems with my current firmware 1.40!

If you can still find the project in the project list, I suggest selecting it as active project, doing a sysex backup of that project, then reinstall the same project, from your computer, back into an new, initialized program slot. I did this once, and everything started working correctly. Made me think that the project data itself wasn’t corrupted, but rather that the DN was mis-reading the data. Good luck!

2 Likes