Parenting thread

I wanted to start a thread of peers sharing parenting advice/stories/etc…
I couldn’t find anything specific, if it exists, feel free to delete and point me to it.

New, old, expecting, whatevs

I’ll start:
I’m new at it, but not that young. We have a two year old daughter.
We quit bands and touring and decided to pull the trigger and she was born right before Covid hit, so we’ve basically been with her 24/7 for her whole life.
Honestly, it’s been awesome, I love it. And luckily my wife is really good at it, so less pressure on me, lol.
All the cliche things everyone says about having kids has all be true, for us, so far.
It’s exciting, interesting, frustrating, tiring, funny, anxiety inducing. All the things.

One thing that I’m reflecting on a lot lately is something I heard Dave Chappelle say on a podcast. It was something like “not only did having children increase the love in my life, it increased my capacity for love”
And he’s right, same for me, it’s beautiful.

Anyway, I was prompted to do this because right now we are living with my in-laws who are in their late 60s. We just moved to Australia to be near my wife’s family, so during lockdown we’ve been spending a lot of time around her folks and I’ve noticed that they don’t necessarily approve of everything we do in regards to parenting.
They’re far too polite to come right out and say that, but I get it, and they make “suggestions” a lot.

How did everyone figure out their roles as parents? How did decide what kind of discipline, what tools you need to give them?

I’ve been thinking even before my daughter was born that I wanted my role to be more of a guide than just someone who tells her what to do all the time.
When I was a kid, I thought all adults just existed to yell at me and tell me what to do, or not to do. I don’t remember a lot of help, at least not the kind of help that would have guided me to make good decisions rather than just scare me into a particular path.