Overbridge troubles should be a lesson learned

Elektron, please stay focused on making awesome stand-alone deep hardware. Bring back the days of the Machinedrum. Physical individual outs will always be better than a USB substitute. If you need to keep the size and manufacturing costs down, how about 8-channel optical ADAT? Resist the urge to virtualise everything!
Yes, you can do a lot with the DAW and fancy graphics on a big screen but that’s not why we buy the hardware.
If we wanted to use plug-ins to make music, we’d use the vast amounts of quality plugs already available, and which sonically destroy every single piece of Elektron gear - IMO.

We’re in a situation now that newer Elektron gear is more unstable than the silver boxes, and the culprit seems to be Overbridge.

Maybe I’m wrong but I’m not a newbie and I know why I invested in Elektron gear. It’s for the hardware and the sequencer. I have 16 analogue inputs to feed into my computer with a couple of decent quality and affordable Firewire audio interfaces. Why would I want to go through USB?

26 Likes

Are you the Alex Case, author of the Sound FX book?

If so, Elektron should be listening a little more closely…

1 Like

When Overbridge was first announced myself and many other long term Elektron users feared that it could impact the development of the hardware, and I’m sorry to say it does seem that these concerns were justified.

But as Elektron have stated on this forum, Overbridge is here to stay, and it does seem that steps are being taken to improve the development by hiring more staff and so on. I hope that they can pull it off, even though it is doubtful that I will ever use Overbridge myself, unless the standalone version will run on my computer, mainly just for patch management only though, not at all interested in the audio side - that is why I use hardware.

4 Likes

I agree with keeping it simple.