OT sequencer stops unexpectedly

I have a Nerdseq (master), ES Disting EX, Analog Rytm and OT all attached through an Erica Synth Midi hub. Everything stays running except the Octatrack. It stops for no apparent reason after some period of running. Admittedly, I leave it running longer than most people probably do. But generally within an hour it stops. If this was a spurious Midi message I would expect other stuff like the AR to stop too. It was doing this before I had the Erica Synth box too.

OT can stop receiving a specific note (A1 , 33).

Otherwise, if the note is not the culprit, I’d try OT with Clock Receive unchecked, in order to check if loosing sync stops it.

3 Likes

The culprit (as @sezare56 already hinted at) is very likely the uncommon fact that the OT interprets various MIDI notes as commands. Check “Appendix C / C.1: Standard Note Mapping” in the manual to see which notes trigger which commands.

1 Like

:astonished:

It’s running for that time without you stopping it once?

2 Likes

One A1 note per hour. :content:

5 Likes

In my case there are no midi notes on the bus, just clock. Pam’s is the master clock for Nerdseq, and everything on the midi bus. As far as I know nothing on the midi bus is sending notes, or really anything but clock. At least with the current setup.

Yep, it’s a drone patch.

2 Likes

Did you check with a midi monitor if a particular message is sent ? (filtering clock data)

Does it stop with Clock Receive unchecked ?

1 Like

How would one monitor midi with no computer attached anywhere? The only midi interface I have is the USB from computer to Keystep Pro. Which isn’t in use or even turned on lately. I think my Motu M2 has a midi interface but I have never tried to use it. I don’t have the midi add-on for the ES-9 either.

I can try unchecking clock receive.

Thanks