OT sequencer started with midi keyboard note? Why?

I’m still learning about midi, and am attempting to connect my hardware in a way that lets me use my prophet 6 to send midi note data to the OT sequencer, to then be played on my cyclone 303.

I was able to make this happen (I even achieved live midi recording), but encountered a strange thing that I’d like to fix/learn about in the process.

I was able to start the OT sequencer and select tracks on the OT by pressing certain keys on the prophet. Is this some sort of midi conflict, or am I missing a setting on the OT?

I have the OT transmitting on channel 2, and the 303 receiving on channel 2 as well. I’m not clear on what the OT autochannel does/controls, so maybe this is it. The keys and notes on the prophet and 303 did seem to correspond, but once I got up to the higher notes, the keys began selecting tracks and starting the OT clock. Why is this?

I’m in same boat being pretty new to midi. Had similar things happen when I first sent midi in to OT from keyboard. OT audio tracks only have 2 octaves (I can’t remember which they are, maybe C3 +C4, someone else can probably clarify). Other incoming midi notes can change a bunch of other stuff. Be careful cos I changed some settings this way that took a while to track down afterwards when things weren’t sounding right all of a sudden…

Just a quick heads up in case you’re there sending all kinds of messages in to OT before someone else chymes in with better help :wink:

1 Like

The OT allows remote control of its operations using MIDI Note messages.

As Cotv pointed out, the OT can only play back samples chromatically in a two-octave range.

The exact details are given on page C-1 of the OT’s manual.