OT Science Lab - 1 Year Study - 1 - Childhood Revisited

When I first started this challenge I tried sampling video game stuff. Sounds from Pokemon RBY, MGS alert sounds, that kind of stuff. Then I realized that I had rewatched Lost recently (a show I grew up watching from 5th grade to 11th grade, every episode as it aired) and that it had a great original soundtrack. Once I started playing the music from the final episode I felt a wave of nostalgia and decided to just only use Lost sounds–no more Pokemon!

So here you are. Harp and piano resampled, pitched etc. The “song” that’s playing and giving me a kick is Mama Cass–Play Your Own Kind of Music which is what Desmond listens to when his character is revealed in the hatch. There is also the hatch beeping sound incorporated as a sort of backbeat.

All recorded directly into a DAW, with various mutes/pattern changes done live.

This is my very first track finished entirely with an OT, so it’s a cool milestone. Looking forward to starting a new one next month. Cheers!

22 Likes

Really cool! Quite an epic feel and nice use of space :heart_eyes:

3 Likes

I really like that, quite different from the usual…
Nice work!

1 Like

Dude - LOST is my favorite show ever. This is a really great tune - nice work! Fifth grade to 11th? Man, that makes me feel old! I discovered lost about midway through the 3rd season, but by that point, I was 28 or 29. At any rate, top work, you’re really taking off with the Octatrack.

2 Likes

Hell yeah! I recently rewatched it for the first time since it aired, and I thought I’d only watch a few episodes just to kind of remember what the show was like, but then me and my roommates all got hooked. The writing is so good. Now I’m halfway through The Stand by Stephen King because apparently it was the biggest inspiration for the show. The Stand is good, no doubt, but Lost is really special.

2 Likes