Octatrack with Model:Cycles - Program Changes

Hey!

So I’ve been playing for a while with my Digitakt and my Model: Cycles.
The way I have it set up is: the Digitakt as master clock, sending clock and Program Changes to the Model:Cycles. That way, when I change a pattern on the Digitakt, the Model:Cycles also changes pattern.

Now, I’m new to the Octatrack. I’ve been reading a lot and just found out about Parts and how I can use that in my advantage.
When I get comfortable enough with the Octatrack, I will use it with my Model:Cycles.
I want to send Clock and Program Changes from the Octatrack to the Model:Cycles. The problem is, unlike Digitakt, I can’t have a ‘new song’ on every Pattern on the Octatrack. I can only have a new song per Part on the Octatrack.

Is there any way to send Program Changes on certain Patterns only on the Octatrack to the Model:Cycles? I want the Model:Cycles to only change Patterns when I change Parts on the Octatrack, not Patterns on the Octatrack.

Maybe this can be done, I just don’t fully understand MIDI yet :slight_smile:
Thank you for reading,

Cheers!

1 Like

Then disactivate PROG CH SEND in the OT’s PROJECT > MIDI > SYNC menu.

2 Likes

thanks! But if I do it that way, will the Model:Cycles change Patterns when I change Parts on the Octatrack?

Cheers

How about if you keep each new part as a separate pattern? So pattern A01 on OT uses part 1, M:C plays pattern A01, OT A02 uses part 2, M:C plays pattern A02, and so on. Or separate them into banks instead, so part 2 uses bank B, part 3 uses bank C, etc etc. It’ll take a little organisation, but you can always copy and paste your M:C patterns around to match what’s happening on OT.

Yes.

1 Like

Hi,

I bought used OT MK II few days ago so I’m totally beginner. I’ve tried to sync it with model:cycles, so that I could control pattern changes with OT instead of pushing buttons on MC. But I still can’t figure it out. When I change pattern or part with OT it’s not changing it on MC.