Octatrack midi knob clear bug?

Here is my issue (1.25H):

• I record a midi note pattern from an external sequencer.
  • After recording, I clear the length values for that pattern with No(hold) + ParamEncoder(push) while in live record mode.
  • This works / plays fine… until I turn my octatrack off and back on. Once my octatrack has restarted, all values for these note trigs have been cleared (pitch, velocity and length).

Has anyone else run into this issue? Really messing with my flow. I am fairly new to my octatrack but from all my experience I would expect it to be the same when I turn it back on…

Just tried it + a few variations & yes!

It’s worse than that too. Much worse. Doesn’t just affect trigs recorded from midi in

My testing isn’t exhaustive but so far I think you can say that:

After using the NO+ENCODER PUSH technique ALL p-locks on all midi trigs for that track are lost after power-down!

Really bad bug - people could lose a lot of work.

I haven’t checked what happens to trigs on non-focussed tracks, or whether it only affects the trigs passed over while holding no+encoder as I did a full sweep each time.

Would you please report it to Elektron? (I’m
slowly getting through my own list of bug reports!)

1 Like

It gets a lot worse

The p-locks are lost even if you save project before you power down [EDIT: not true. You can recover plocks with a reload if you have saved while they are still there. Thanks sezare!]

I’m sick of the bugs on OT

[EDIT: it still “gets worse” - see below!]

1 Like

Oh and other observations fwiw

Problem doesn’t affect non focused tracks

Problem doesn’t affect trigs entered after the NO+ENC sweep

Problem doesn’t affect trigs not passed over during NO+ENC

Problem DOES affect all trigs passed over during NO+ENC even if they didn’t have p-locks on the parameter being cleared.

Sounds like trouble, won’t be having my OT fired up for a bit but will check this out when I do, definitely encourage support tickets…