Octatrack Finger Drumming?

Hey all - forgive me, I am a total novice with the OT! But I was wondering: can you set different samples to trigs (i.e. kick on trig 1, snare on trig 2 etc.) and then live record/jam on loops with multiple samples? Or can you only chromatically play one sample that is loaded onto a track via flex machine? I’m looking for an MPC sort of style of playing different samples ideally, and was curious if that is possible on the OT. Thank you!

You can play / record trigs 9-16, and assign a sample for each track. External midi possible.

You can also play chromatically, +/- 1 octave, but recording is possible only on 1 track. Ext midi.

In 2 special Trig modes, you can also play the 128 sample slots, or the 64 slices (max) of a sample. 1 track only for recording, no ext midi but slices can be played / recorded with a midi trick, requiring a midi processor.
Edit : no midi processor needed with 0S 1.40 new modes.

2 Likes

By external midi possible, are you saying I can map samples to a midi controller and play them the way I could play MPC pads, say on a keystep/beatstep?

Yes.

Simple way of explaining how i “finger drum”.
Make a samplechain with bass drum, snare, hhat, a couple other samples of whatever. You can make samplechains in OctaChainer (free download) very easy. Or do manually on the OT.
Load samplechain into a track. Turn on slice mode for said track. Now, turn on slice mode by hitting function-down arrow. Now when you are in play mode, not record mode, the slices will be spread across the 16 trig buttons, shown as green lights. Now hit record. Bobs your uncle. You can have up to 64 slices… If I wasn’t clear, just research slice mode.

4 Likes

Everything you ever wanted to know about octatrack is in here

(Or free pdf download from the elektron website.)

You can also change the trig mode with Func+[up / down arrows] to slots mode, or slices if you have sliced samples.