Newbie with auto play/record query

Hiya! I’m new to the Octatrack World, and have set up our machine but have a question about why it seems to be automating playback and record on certain tracks?? Can’t find anything specific in the manual so thought I’d swing it to you folks.

I have set up 3 Thru tracks (T1, T2, T5) which are running live feeds from a keyboard, drum machine and synthesiser (all working in real time and looping live). Then I have 3 Flex tracks which are set up to record from the 3 Thru tracks, so it’s in these tracks that I make my loops from.

My question is, why does it appear that there is some kind of automated record happening when I press [PLAY] ?

Here’s what’s happening from all tracks on [STOP] - all tracks have the square next to them:

As soon as I press [PLAY], T1, T2, T3 and T6 get the +> sign next to them, which means it’s active for recording right?

Then after the machine has run a lap through the 32 step sequence, it goes to this:

T2 stays stuck on the +> for ever. Which means it is constantly recording and looping over itself right? It’s just a thru track so it doesn’t affect the stuff I’m recording, but I have no idea how I made it automate to this and would like to know how to undo it.

Answers any one??
Thanks in advance for your wisdom.

BatS

1 Like

I’m guessing tracks 1, 3 and six have a one-shot rec trig and track 2 has a normal rec trig. Look them up in the manual.

What you said about recorders was a bit confused. There are eight recorders and their contents can be played back on any track(s), they’re not limited in any way by the track on which they seem to record.

2 Likes