New octatrack user/noobie questions

Hey all -

I’m a hip hop producer who recently purchased an AK and was so impressed that I got an OT to be my sampling station. My question is this - I’m having trouble figuring out how to get the OT to figure out what the BPM of my imports are or how to slap it into a one/two/four bar loop. Is there a way to drop a phase into the box and have it analyze the bpm? I did some thinking on it and my best plan of action seems to be this -

sample from turntable into laptop
cut them in audacity
edit pitch and time stretch to desired BMP in abelton
drop to OT from abelton
go from there.

this seems to give me the most freedom to stay out of the box as much as possible and then jump in running. Am I working too hard? is there an easier way to do this? I love the workflow but I tend to get lost easily but like I said, I learned the AK in a matter of a month of grinding and now I’m good so I know there’s a learning curve. Any takers? Thanks guys.

cmi

Welcome onboard :slight_smile:

Your workflow is efficient … my only suggestion would be to record directly into Ableton and skip audacity. Later, if you are familiar with all the OT machines, I would recommend to record directly to the OT, if you tend to work completely OTB :wink: But, this said, IMO editing audio is quite more easy ITB.

1 Like

For clean loops I don’t remember having trouble just telling OT how many bars the loop is and then having timestrech switched on, normally snaps drum loops etc perfect to project bpm like this. Never needed to use ITB to get a loop to work. My mem card is full of Paul Nice drum loops etc and all good. Think they preview from browser in sync too if I remember right? Obvs theres no warp markets etc tho so if a loop is sloppy you’d be better off fixing it in ableton or poss workaround using slices/resample.

2 Likes

Welcome, long and exciting journey ahead :slight_smile: