New audio interface sounds like shoite

I have got to the stage where I need to record several synths simultaneously so I went and bought a Presonus STUDIO1824c after reading good reviews on the internet. I set it up yesterday and was immediately disappointed with the sound. I have been using an M-Audio 2496 card which I have had for about 18 years and the Presonus sounds terrible in comparison, lacking the sharp, clean highs, lacking the bottom end of the 2496, lacking focus, sounding muddy and lifeless and generally leaving me with the feeling that some musical element is missing that used to be there. I initially thought maybe it could be placebo effect or tiredness but I just did and A B comparison and the difference is massive. The music comes to life on the old soundcard but makes me feel like I need to get my ears syringed on the Presonus. Now I’m not sure what to do. Obviously I’m going return it to the ebay seller for a refund but what to do after that? I don’t want to go through the same process with another lacklustre interface and I’m on a budget, even the purchase of Presonus felt like a bit of an extravagance. Does anybody else have any similar experiences?

Sounds like a defect to me. If anything, Presonus should be better quality than an ancient M-audio.

7 Likes

It doesn’t sound defective, it just sounds dull. I expected with it being Presonus that it would sound incredible but it doesn’t.

I was once disgusted by the sound quality of the minijack output on a new windows laptop, much like what you describe. Turned out that updating the drivers solved the situation.

1 Like

If it s the inherent quality then you should be able to find more people complaining about it online. Such a difference with an old low-budget m-audio wouldn t go unnoticed i presume.

1 Like