Need some advice with audio path

I do live shows mostly and work in my home studio. I rarely use Daw… maybe just to record… or slice sounds… most of final recordings are recorded on a taskam field recorder… or a marantz reel to reel machine.

I’m not new to electron… but I’m new to the octatrack… The gear I use are the following… electric guitars… esq 1 synth… yamaha dx7… microbrute… model samples… digitone… sp404… mpc500… zoom multistomp pedal… pod 500 and of course the octatrack… I dont necsecaeryly use all this gear at once… but I often 3 or 4 pieces of it at time…

I have everything going to my mixer except the octatrack and the sp404. I then have my mixer go to inputs of the octatrack… then the octatrack goes to my sp404.

I get dogged on other sites all the time… this forum seems to more mature and helpful… everyone says can the mixer cause it’s the worse electronics in the signal chain… I have a Mackie mixer… a proffesional mixer is not in my game plan for a few years… should I can the mixer? is there a better way I should be chaining my audio signal together? on reddit it’s all negative no one can be any advice… curios what you folk think?

sorry for typos I dont like cellphones:)
thanks

Using mixer is ok. But i think octatrack should be placed at the end of the chain. Why sp404 is there, just curiously

1 Like

I used it for alot of my longer sampler recordings… and some of the effects it has to offer can not be matched by any of my other gear… that’s why I have everything going to my octatrack then the octatrack track sends everything I want to sp for recording and effects… unless you can think up a better way to do this… I’ve wrapped my brain around it now for a week… I cant think or troubleshoot something better that would work that way? essentially the octatrack is 2nd last in the chain… do you have any solutions:(?

I could put the octatrack last… but then the octatrack couldn’t use the effects of the sp?

1 Like