Midi talk. I have a DSI Rev2, considering a DT. What cool ways can I connect them?

Hey dudes, I had a few questions regarding the DT’s midi sequencing. I had a DT for a little while in the past but only used it as a standalone portable groovebox. I never integrated it with any of my hardware at that time.

I’m considering grabbing the DT again and I have some questions about possibilities for my setup. I’m new to midi sequencing external gear in general so I don’t really know whats possible. ATM I mostly record and layer audio from my rev2.

I’ve heard the DT has some issues with poly midi sequencing. What are these exactly? I’m aware of the 4 voice limit and I was also wondering if there were work arounds. I’m really just going to spitball some ideas and concerns I had.

My rev2 is the keyboard version. Can I use the keyboard on my synth to play and record midi from my synth? I planned on using the DT as a sort of midi looper. Recording in some note data on the fly while still being able to adjust parameters from the Rev2 panel.

I know the DT offers some awesome CC plocking. Is this possible while retaining knob use on my Rev2?

The Rev2 is Bitimbral. I was wondering if I could use two separate midi sequences to control different portions of a split patch. Would be cool to have 4 voices each.

Open to suggestions and ideas. I’m really just trying to wrap my head around the potential setup ideas.

It’d be a good fit if you will use the sampler portion of the DT and are OK with the limitations of the Elektron step-style sequencer. With 8 MIDI tracks to dedicate to your Rev2 you should be able to do just about anything you want. The 4-note limitation is simply that per step, you can have 4 notes, but they all must trigger at the same time. Glissandi for example, is next to impossible on the Elektron sequencer.

If you want a more traditional, full-featured event-based sequencer, I’d look elsewhere.

hey yo,