MIDI Sequencing: OT vs DT vs Pyramid/Cirklon/Etc

Hello. I’m a recent convert to the Elektron workflow having purchased the A4 and AR mk2 machines. I’m a long time musician/composer and bought the Elektron devices to break out of the DAW-first approach to music production. I still use Ableton for initial melodic/chord ideation but then switch to Elektron /HW devices to execute the vision.

In addition to the A4 and AR, I also own a Virus TI2 and am about to purchase either the OB-6 or Prophet 6. The final piece of the workflow is a MIDI sequencer. I absolute love the Elektron workflow and so I’ve been considering the OT even though I know it’s not the most capable MIDI sequencer available. I don’t do a ton of sampling so the AR has me covered there, but for some reason I’m still leaning towards the OT due to the workflow.

I’m on the waiting list for the Cirklon but I’m not holding my breath. The other option is the Pyramid. I don’t love the ergonomics and it seems a bit cheap but it does seem capable.

I’ve scoured the forums here and I’ve found some great older threads on this topic but just wanted to solicit opinions/feedback on the current state of the aforementioned machines. Should I just say screw it and get the OT? Or will the Pyramid hold me over until the Cirklon is available?

1 Like

Cirklon seems the best, linear / step sequencer with tons of options.

I have OT, would miss a lot its 3 lfos / arp per track if I had a DT instead. DT has better Program Change implementation, overlapping notes*, but no song mode.
They both have midi trig conditions.
I have an MPC500 if needed.

I don’t know Pyramid much, seems to have a particular approach, really interesting, but not my cup of tea I think.

*On OT the 4 (max) notes have same length, defined with the trig, they are stopped if you place a trig before the end of the notes.

Ot has something magical with realtime sampling / mangling / crossfader.

3 Likes