MIDI Output from DAW to Analog 4 Sequencer

Hi All,

I’m trying to record notes into my Analog 4 using a USB Midi keyboard and Ableton. I can ‘play’ the Analog 4 just fine with the controller, but can’t seem to record notes in either live record mode or by holding down a trigger and pressing notes on the controller. Since my controller is USB only, I can’t connect it directly to the Analog 4. I have note send info activated in Ableton and set up the Analog 4 itself correctly (receiving notes, correct channels, etc.). I’m a Pro Tools guy so I could just be screwing up the Ableton settings… oh for the day when Elektron and Pro Tools become friends :confused:

I stand to be corrected but I think the Elektron sequencers only record from their own buttons. The way to go would be to record the midi notes into ableton then sequence the A4 over midi. Or you could programme the sequence into the A4 and clock it from ableton over midi.

You can record to the Elektron sequencers via external midi, I do it by accident all the time by leaving record on while playing midi from my DAW or from my Octatrack. check out your A4’s midi setup ,maybe its set to midi-in not USB+Midi-in in the midi settings menu

2 Likes

My bad! It’s not something I’ve tried yet. Too busy noodling on the boxes themselves!

Interesting. I wonder if there is a distinction between trying to record on the A4 sequencer using midi that has already been recorded into a DAW/Octa vs. live input from a keyboard. Seems like the auto chan setting is the common issue with a keyboard directly plugged into the A4’s midi port, but I set that up correctly. Will fool around some more when I get home and hope I get lucky :stuck_out_tongue:

The A4 can even live record via MIDI on all its 4 tracks at once (if wanted):