Manual slicing question

So I’ve been making slice grids for three years but never got into manual slicing.

The manual claims that slices can overlap each other, but I can’t figure how to make this work - the play cursor must be outside an existing slice for Add Slice Here to appear. I can do that all right, but isn’t there a way to designate overlapping slices?

Thanks

Not in front of the OT but can you not move slice start and end points? Create slice outside of previous one, then adjust.

I can, but it won’t allow me to set a new start point unless I’m outside the boundaries of an existing slice.

Maybe it’s something obvious, but I can’t make it work. It’s not that big a deal I guess, but the manual states that slices can overlap, and damned if I can figure out how.

overlapping slices and adding slices are 2 different things. changing the endpoint of one slice does not change the startpoint of the next slice. use the add slice command in the slice menu to add another slice, or start out with too many slices and delete some or…

OK: let’s say I have an 8-bar sample. I want to have one slice comprised of bars 1-4, and another slice comprised of bars 2-6.

Obviously, they overlap. Is that do-able, and can someone kindly explain how to set the start and end points of the second slice?

Sorry, I keep trying but am not getting how it’s done.

[ul]
[li]add your first slice[/li]
[li]move the playhead beyond the end of your first slice[/li]
[li]add your second slice[/li]
[li]adjust the start point of your new slice with knob A[/li]
[li]adjust the end point with knob C[/li]
[/ul]

in your example you could just as well slice grid it to two slices and go in and change the start and end points of the second slice

2 Likes

This is what I was trying to say too, just create the slices where you can and move them to where you want them

Got it now - Thank you gents. :+1: Sometimes I need a picture drawn for me :dizzy_face:

This is “topic revival day” for me today.