Machinedrum vs Digitakt

I’m fairly new to the Elektron world. Just wondering how similar the Digitakt is to the Machinedrum. Are they totally different animals? Is there stuff that can’t be done on the Digitakt that Machinedrum excels at?

Also, if anyone has links to their favorite machinedrum videos, please post them.

Similar machines…

Better and faster workflow on dt
Trig conditions on Digitakt !!!
So… go Digitakt :slight_smile:

Updates are expected,

1 Like

Yeah. I have a Digitakt and love it. Just wanting to learn more about the other Elektron boxes.

1 Like

I came across this video. Pretty awesome. Any good Machinedrum sample packs out there to feed the DT?

1 Like

They are very different - one is a sampler, the other is a synth. The MD is amazing. I still miss mine.

4 Likes

Is the Rytm the closest of the current generation of machines to the Machinedrum or is it just totally different from anything else?

Other than percussion and p-locks, they’re each their own animal. Sound character, jamming flow/interaction, and capabilities are significantly different.

1 Like

Cool. So you think the OG machinedrum is still relevant?

It will probably become even more relevant as fashions turn and it comes a classic.

4 Likes

I have had a Machinedrum for a year and a half. It is the non UW version. It is a great machine and really good for interesting sound generation. It is far deeper than I gave it credit for initially. I cannot imagine getting rid of it unless I was desperate.

Had a Digitakt. Fabulous machine. Really quick to use and easy to fathom. Replaced it with an Octatrack because I wanted something with more depth.

Comparison of MD and Digitakt:

Completely different machines in my eyes.