Machinedrum vs analog rytm vs other? VI (a new hope MkII)

hey there folks. i know this topic has probably been discussed to death already, but i would appreciate some advice. I’m relatively new to the world of hardware synths in general and have never owned a real drum machine, having been mostly a guitar player, so please excuse my ignorance.

here’s a quick overview of my thought process on this. would really love some advice on this:

-MDUW used for very cheap… or RYTM/other (any suggestions?)

-like the sound of both MD and RYTM in different ways

-I would like to do some sampling, but mostly i want a drum machine and not a sampler (i think)

-I find the process of synthesis very enjoyable/interesting but also really love effects and the idea of manipulating samples, but i found it boring on maschine

-I would very much like to sequence external hardware over midi. its not completely essential, but it would be a big plus

-I recently got an A4 when the used price dropped this summer and wonder if there is anything about the RYTM that would make it a much better companion to it. I haven’t really used over bridge and am really enjoying not involving the computer much.

Any suggestions for drum machines would be very much appreciated, whether they are elektron or not. I dont have all that much money to spend, so not too much more than $1k max and preferably significantly less.

2 Likes

maybe more like $1500 absolute maximum, but only if it would really REALLY be worth it

synthesis on the MDUW is broader, you can sample and sequence on it- really cool.

AR is obviously good in different ways, but I think the MDUW checks more of your boxes

Buy my MD (or @Ryan’s MD)

1 Like

how much? there’s one pretty cheap in oslo, so it would have to be worth it to pay for shipping/import duties. its not the + version, though. how much of a difference would that make?

With A4 you can synthesize sounds you’d be able to use as sample in Digitakt.