Liquid D&B bass hardware recommendation

Hello everyone! I’m kind of new here, I visit the forum a lot but never wrote so here I am, my first post.

Now I’m building different sets (live performance) and need some advice from you guys.

I own a DT, DN and Korg Minilogue; my main set is focused on Liquid Drum & Bass so I use DT for drums/breaks & samples, DN for ambient/melodic stuff and Minilogue… well, I sample some sounds into DT but never use it live.

Now my question:
I’m in “trouble” with basses, last months I’m building them mainly with NI Massive and then sample them into DT, also created some with Minilogue but I’m an FM noob so DN basses are a mystery to me (and I think FM is not warm/deep enough for Liquid basses, correct me if I’m wrong).
I want to free DT bass tracks (cause they’re not really mutable live…) and forget about PC so I’m interested in purchase (probably selling my Minilogue) some bass dedicated synth, some recommendation? max. around ~500€ if possible and accept all kind of suggestions (keep my setup, buy fx/ eq to warm sound, etc.)

Big thanks!

1 Like

Correct me if I’m wrong but to me most Liquid tracks dont have very sophisticated bass patches. Often its just a low sine or triangle wave with maybe a little wobble by using an lfo on the filter/amplitude, you can easily achieve that with the DN without needing to be an fm-wizard.

2 Likes

Totally true, sine and LFO are the basic config (almost every liquid track use this). I also think DN can do this but I get my DN this week and I’m still learning basic FM, this evening I’m going to give it a try.

But! I also thought about a bass synth because I want to get out a bit of this basic patch and play with bass (keeping it warm, bold & deep) a bit further than strictly sine-wobble-loop all live long.

You think DN can do the job by itself? Maybe it’s just a lack of time with my DN.

Minitaur is what you want. Use the Korg for leads and the DN for poly sounds and fx, DT for beats. Nice setup.