Is Digitone stable as an audio interface?

Hi all!

I just bought a new Macbook Pro (M1 Pro). I’d like to ask your experiences to use Digitone as audio interface (playing anything from Mac to Digi outputs). Is this setup stable? I am a professional musician and I cannot afford a system which is not liable.

Reason I am asking this is that with my earlier 2014 MBP I had some audio drop out issues and that time I gave up the idea.

Thanx!
P

Just my personal opinion, I use the DT as audio interface with a MacBook Pro 2013, no issues at all. Main use case is listening to YouTube videos while playing around with the DT.

1 Like

Very stable. It’s an excellent audio interface as long as you don’t need preamps. I really appreciate the output ‘colour’, quite different from my Audient id14.

1 Like

Hey could you possibly go into more detail about latency differences between devices, if any exist? I’ve been looking to get an interface to pair with Ableton but I’d rather invest in an Elektron device to at least have the benefit of everything they are vs. just a nice interface.

It won’t be scientific at all, sorry. The Audient is more transparent than the Digitone, the latter is maybe darker but in a very pleasing way to my ears. You can’t notice that difference if you don’t A/B though. Regarding latency the iD14 isn’t very good, but not bad either. It won’t compete with RME. That said I don’t mind in most cases (but recording guitar where latency is an issue for me). The DN is very comparable in this domain : I don’t notice any annoying latency and you can record external instruments without issue, if you’re not too picky with latency. I think the DN is a great-all-in-one solution.

1 Like

It’s important to note that this is a synthesizer that CAN function as an interface as such it is not optimized to be an interface. Performance and latency will reflect that.

3 Likes