Internal Resampling Nightmares :)

My fellow Octanerds,

I have been using the Octatrack for 3 months and been facing serious problems in internal resampling. I have read the forum about the regular workflow guidelines, but still I cant seem to get it going…

Here are 2 screenshots, so I can see the recording happen on Track 1 where I have setup the record buffer. Now what do I do ?

1. After I hit STOP, ( which I ideally don’t want as I want a continuous resampling playback), I am forced to save it via the EDIT menu. And then go into the AUDIO pool to search for the newly saved file.

2. If I don’t SAVE the file, then it disappears but the loop keeps recording continuously from Track2.

I am a bit dyslexic, if anyone can point out step by step the most easy and efficient workflow for uninterrupted resampling and saving I will bless you.

Thank you all !

Off the top of my head … if you have a Track that you wish to resample, in your case T2’s 32 bar sequence … and you want this captured on T1 record buffer, then you may wish to set the SRC3 source as T2 (not main) … this will grab the output of T2 including effects and mangling

but what do you want to do with that buffer and how will you separate it from the playback of T2 … i.e. what’s your plan for the source and buffer recording that you want to constantly capture

Let’s say you Mute the T2 track for now, this track will still be resampled internally to T1 but you won’t get audio overlaps … if you set the Flex Track to playback its own buffer (this is the highest slot selectable from the flex list) then the Recording Trig and Playback Trig should exist on the first step of the seq … this will mean that you always hear the last ‘pass’ of the buffer - if you want to hear the ‘live’ buffer, then set the recording trig to be 1 microtime step early - i.e. shift it left to -1/384 - this will mean the playback will follow the record (rather than playing last pass)