How do you pair the Syntakt with other midi devices

I wish I didn’t have to do this but I’m not able to make anything work. I have a fader fox pc4 and I want to use it with my new Syntakt. I have uploaded presets into the FaderFox, hooked midi in the FaderFox and midi out the syntakt and I can’t seem to set it up right. I have been trying to make this work for months now.
There are TONS of videos on YT but none show the actual setup except for one video but it’s the Octatrack, the information is not the same.
Please help. I just want to know how to set it up.
FYI - I have never been able to make the fader fox work with anything before. I am a total noob.

1 Like

@slicetwo, @Humanprogram may chime in…

Midi is a standard.

Choose the parameters you want to control on Syntakt (CCs list in manual). Set them on the Faderfox (manual).

Use appropriate midi channels to control each track independently. Default are 1-13.
You can also control active track only with channel 14.

Try with 1 parameter first, to check if it works (right CC, channel, midi cable connection)

3 Likes

Not sure if you’re saying here that you connected a cable from the IN of the faderfox to the OUT of the syntakt, but if you did, it needs to be the other way around. Out from the faderfox to in of syntakt.

4 Likes

Thank you. I saw that set up in a video and thought that was the correct way to set it up.

Worth reading up on basic MIDI routing, that will give you a base of general knowledge that you can then apply to do this kind of troubleshooting in the future. MIDI connections are like audio, you are sending a signal from an output to an input, so the thing you intend to control (Syntakt) needs to receive signal from the thing you’re sending control data from (Faderfox). Hence: Faderfox OUT to Syntakt IN.