HELP with deciding on an E-commerce solution

To start, I know there are forums more on topic for this but I’ll have to introduce myself and I am kinda shy :wink: … and maybe I will get better insights here just because it’s off topic and in The Lounge.

So here we go. We plan to open a little brick and mortar store and of course would like to open that up into the www at some point (only Germany to start). We will not have more than 100 products.

I have experience with webshops (have build and used an oscommerce website/store in the early 2000’s and also worked with WP and Woocommerce a bit, that was all many years ago already.

In 2021 there are so many options though! I have been reading and letting all the info sink in for now because we still have a lot of other work to deal with first.

Our shop will be based in Berlin so German law applies.

Another note, I used to be a sys admin but left that life behind many moons ago and I am not interested in picking it up again (yet) so I think I want a hosted solution. I don’t want to deal with server sh!t, I prefer calling support when needed and let them figure it out while I am working on selling or getting better purchase prices.

I made a shortlist of the packages I could go for. I take into account that I am in Germany so local build software has an edge because of the prompt implementation of legal aspects.

Already reviewed

• Shopware
  • Gambio
  • JTL Shop
  • Shopify
  • ePages

Have to look into

• plentymarkets
  • intershop
  • lightspeed
  • prestashop
  • Oxid eSales
  • Odoo

Not interested (for now)

• Magento
  • Woocommerce

I am not sure about hosted options that do revenue sharing like Shopify and many others,… I will also take that into :balance_scale: when it’s money time.

I would like to integrate a POS and (basic) inventory management (hybrid) from the start, just because it’s the way to do it right.

Feel free to share any thoughts/insides you might have.

Cheers

What about Wix?