Help deciding between Rytm and Octatrack

Hello, my first post here.

I’m looking to purchase an Elektron device to further my setup and make it more of a live performance. I currently use a Korg Prologue 16 for writing and recording synth parts and layers, and I use Ableton Live for sequencing drum and other samples. (My sound is Boards of Canada if they wrote pop songs for Robyn — I guess… :confused:)

Im looking to make my sampling more dynamic and more of a performance. The problem I’m having is choosing between the Rytm or Octatrack. I’ve messed with the OT and like what I hear but I think it’s not really great as a drum computer, correct? Is the Rytm’s sampling function capable of loading and tweaking samples? Or is more for layering on top of the analog drum sounds?

I’m pretty new to this world so keep that in mind, just looking for some solid advice from other’s experiences.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Here are some things I would consider if I were looking at either. The OT can handle stereo samples, while the RYTM will only handle mono. The sampling and use of samples in RYTM is similar to Digitakt, but you can also layer them over the internal analog drum sounds. RYTM has 8 outputs, and overbridge, while OT only has 4 outputs. RYTM has 1GB internal memory, OT uses compact flash, so much more memory is available.

5 Likes

OK this is helpful. I’m thinking the Rytm is more in line with what I’m looking for. I appreciate it!

2 Likes

I have both, and I spend more time with the RYTM these days. It is certainly a more intuitive drum machine than the OT. The depth and breadth of the Octatrack can be paralyzing if you’re not going in with a plan, wheras the RYTM is a lot more inviting and forgiving. I wouldnt trade one for the other, but the OT is demanding!

5 Likes

If you’re planning on doing more live playing then go with the RTM. If you’re setting up samples and drums for playback and are more about tweaking go OT.

3 Likes