Having trouble with usb/flash in octatrack

hi everyone,

i’m just getting started with my octatrack here and having some trouble with the usb/flash connection. i’m using the kingston 16gb supplied by elektron.
this is my first piece of elektron gear, so i’m brand new to all this

whenever i try to move the audio samples to my set (as shown in the 1st tutorial) or transfer wav files from my computer to the flash i get error messages saying that the samples are already in use, or my mac will suddenly say that the flash was ejected improperly. sometimes after that the octatrack is frozen and i have to reboot.

i’ve tried copying the latest binary os update onto the card but i get the same message “The operation can’t be completed because the item “DPS-1_OS1.25D.bin” is in use.” i don’t see why it’s in use.

i’ve tried two different usb cables and i haven’t had any usb problems with my mac before.
i also did a factory reset on the octa but it didn’t change anything.

perhaps tomorro i’ll get a card reader and try transfering files from my computer to the card like that first

any ideas or suggestions are much appreciated.

thx.
lookin forward to getting into this thing!

Resorting to card readers may be an unwise step, there’s been one or two issues with card use that way. The usb mode ought to work fine for you, maybe if you spell out your os it may provide clues. Files in use … sounds like you need to double check all other mac apps that may have access are closed. As for the erratic behaviour i’m not sure, try formatting the card to ensure it’s not containing corrupt files still, do it via octa if possible or search here for formatting advice (after you back up the content of course), keep things simple to begin with, on file at a time til it works as expected, card reader may work out, but be gentle with card insertion/eject etc. if it’s a new unit, use the elektron branded usb cable

just buy a card reader since i buy one all the compact flash problems gone :joy: