Electricity crackling sound (raster-noton sound design)

Hello there. I am new to FM synthesis and I didn’t find any similar tutorials for DN or any other FM synth.
How to design electricity crackling sounds or something close to it like this:

or 3:18
(pls remove the gaps - I can’t attach the links)

Here a few tracks full of interesting sounds:
Atom™ - Strom
Pan Sonic - 4’41″
Alva Noto - Uni Normal
Byetone - Plastic Star
Orphx - Tensile
for example

Thanks.

1 Like

Alva Noto uses a lot of sample reduction with the sounds just starting to break up.

1 Like

I love alot of this music too but I don’t know if I have any good answers. Pan Sonic used alot of custom made stuff. Mika was known to use ground hum and other relatively unprocessed signals and I think that’s what’s going in 4’41. Before I could afford synths, it inspired me to plug the outputs of half broken circuits into a mixer and hope for the best. Disclaimer- I don’t necessarily recommend doing this, although I never actually blew anything up.

1 Like

I remember the Reason Subtractor Synthesizer being amazing for popping, clicky, and bubbly sounds. I think I used a saw and sine modulating each other with FM for these. Each OSC tone needs to be distanced pretty far apart if I remember correctly. Holding down the note resulted in some really beautiful popping sounds.

I tried to emulate this on the DN but didn’t have luck. Maybe another project for a rainy day!

5 Likes

these examples are wonderful - they’re out of reason?

Yeah, I made those with Reason’s Subtractor pretty much exclusively (the popping/clicky sounds). I’ll post my patches if I find them on my backup. I unfortunately don’t have Reason anymore (that was 12 years ago!). :sob:

puop cords.zyp (554 Bytes) pop1.zyp (548 Bytes) pop2.zyp (548 Bytes)

Anyone with Reason willing to load these into Subtractor and take a screenshot?

4 Likes

@ericd @virtualpt