DT with guitar pedals

Hi there everyone,

Bought myself a DT for Christmas and it’s on its way. While I count down the seconds and constantly refresh UPS tracking page, I wanted to see if anyone here has experience using the MIDI tracks to control compatible guitar pedals?
I’m an experimental/indie musician with a folk bent and I got the digitakt because I wanted to have a way to incorporate rhythm into my live guitar set. Then I learned about the ability to sequence external MIDI, and had the idea of using it to jump to presets on my pedalboard (I’d be running it into a Strymon Timeline and a Chase Bliss Dark World)
Anyone else done something similar? How did you do it? Any tricks/recommendations?

2 Likes

I have no experience with that, but that sounds really cool… please post with updates!!

I have a Digitone controlling 4 guitar pedals (Eventide TimeFactor and Space, SourceAudio Nemesis and Ventris) on its 4 MIDI Channels. Everything works perfectly. It’s the same thing if you use a Digitakt.

This way, all your Pedal’s Presets are saved with your Patterns. No need to memorize or to write it down. You also have plenty of ways to control the parameters on each Pedal (P-locks, LFO, …).

If you use OB with Ableton Live, you can rout them as External Effects, as an example.

6 Likes

Didn’t know about that, it’s very interesting! I think I might just remove the dust off my guitar sometimes :wink:

I really need a Digitone/DT Keys :joy:

Read the MIDI implementation chart for the pedals - should give you all the CC’s you need. Assign a MIDI channel to the pedals and then control up to 8 CC’s per channel. You’ll be interested in Parameter Locks (P locks) for setting any CC’s to certain steps of the pattern. You can also apply the LFO to any of these CC’s.

2 Likes

I MIDI sync the Digitakt with the Eventide H9’s looper.

3 Likes

Thanks everyone for the replies and information. Looking forward to diving in and sharing my experiments with the new setup.