Does resampling degrade the sample?

Hello fellow elektronauts,

I’m new to using a hardware sampler like the Digitakt, I was wondering if I sample a sound and then proceed to resample it, will it degrade the sound in some way or is this strictly a digital operation ?

Thanks,
Tom

1 Like

It’s mostly gonna be lossless – unless you’re doing some processing on it of course.

Apparently there is a veeeery subtle mid/high boost EQ somewhere on the signal chain, but I’m not sure if that renders onto the internal resampling. I suppose you’d need to resample a few dozen times before things notably stack up, I haven’t really noticed anything myself, but haven’t really pushed it very far either.

Have I got a video for you:

He is pitching up and resampling and downtuning to deliberately try to degrade it but yes. I’m not sure what happens when it’s with the base settings. Try it a bunch of times and do an A/B or A/Z test :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Thanks,
Yeah I watched Ricky’s video but he’s purposely destroying the sample.
I’m gonna resample the same sound multiple times without any tweaks inbetween.
Just because I’m an audio nerd and like to understand how stuff ticks.

4 Likes

Nice. Please report back with examples. I’m sure there are plenty of audio nerds (myself included) on here who’d be interested in the results :slight_smile:

+1 for posting nerdy Digitakt stuff :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

I swear I’ve read someone posting audio examples where they resampled many times and noticed some very minor artefacts, then there was some discussion about that master EQ thing that I mentioned, I think there even was some official Elektron user commenting. It was a few years ago though.

But I can’t find the topic anymore :cold_sweat: :cold_sweat:

Curious to learn the results. Best way is to compare the original with the processed and shifting the phase of one of them to hear the difference only.