Do I need an audio interface?

I’m fairly new in music production and so far I have only recorded using the USB from the mixing desk. Now that some things start to sound well, I want to start recording them using separate channels into a DAW.

My current equipment includes a DN, a DT, a keyboard (used both as a MIDI controller and as a standalone instrument), and a microphone (for singing).

I read that the DN/DT can be used a 2in/2out audio interface, but I’m a bit confused. With my current setup, do I need to buy an audio interface or using the DN/DT/mixing desk is enough? If not, how many in/out channels do you think I need?

In general I would think DN, DT + Overbridge will cover most of your recording needs. I assume you are ok to overdub the vocals and any other keyboard parts? I think if you install overbridge you’ll find most of what you need covered.

1 Like

It sounds like you might be able to get away with using DN/DT only. Something that an interface would add if you ever needed it would be a preamp. Most come with at least one or two of those. Overall latency would likely improve if you moved away from using DN/DT. Dedicated monitor controllers and headphone outs might be of interest. Also, a midi interface. I experimented with using an AH as an audio interface for a mobile setup, but I couldn’t get it to work as a midi interface. But, you can probably get around this if all you need is usb midi. What is your recording setup now? I see it says a mixing desk into usb, can you add some specifics?

Run DT output to DN input, then run Overbridge with the DN to track everything into your DAW. I believe this will work for you. By doing this, you can also use the fx section of your Digitone on your Takt.

…yup…check out overbridge…

no need for a dedicated audio interface for now…

1 Like

for the mic you will need one, a simple model like the audient id4 will do the trick, it has an excellent preamp.

Yes, this is fine.