Digitone vs A4... which one to buy?

Hi have an option to buy a secondhand a4 mk1 for a bit less than the digitone. Which one would you choose? I am looking for ease of use and quality of sound. I will pair it with my digitakt. I have been put off the digitone to be honest due to the OB scandel :wink: I make kinda triphop lofi hiphop etc etc

A few similar threads running at the moment.
The synths are polar opposite so you should really know what general type of synth you are after.
Easy decision for me if that means anything at all.
Digitone

2 Likes

Yeah man Its a tough call for me as I never touched neither. I guess watch more youtube vids… What are the effects like on A4? The digitone ones seem great

I’ve recently bought an MK1 and I’m saving for a Digitone.

I don’t know THAT much about FM synthesis, so I figured that I’d mainly use the DN as a preset machine. In contrast, I’ve been using subtractive synths for ten years so I can pretty much dial in any sound I want.

The A4 has other features too, such as more complex pattern chaining, CV control, performance mode (very handy) and overall more ‘conventional’ sounds.

I will probably end up getting both at some point.

Thanks for the reply…valid points.
Do you find the A4 user friendly or was there a steep learning curve…does it pair well with the software?

A4 can do a lot, there is basic FM and also AM, so you can go pretty weird… Plenty of modulation, excellent FX…

Pros for Digitone : you can control external gear, you have 8 voices of polyphony, a good synth to discover FM synthesis…
Pros for A4 : direct pattern jump and other pattern switch modes, song mode (means a big deal for some people), CV, perf, subtractive synthesis with good distorsion on the filters…

Both are pretty powerful.
You first want to decide if you prefer digital FM or analog subtractive, that’s the main point. And if you are more inclined to control external gear via MIDI or CV, secondary point.