Digitone midi keyboard controller

Hi all,

I’m using a DN as a synth for my DT (awesome pairing!). But I’d like to get a midi controller to control and play the DN as well. I was initially considering the Alesis V49, the reason being that it has 4 selection buttons and knobs, which I can map to the 4 synth tracks of the DN, and then switch easily while playing (also has pads which I can map to whatever). However, I realized that the Alesis has no MIDI out, only USB, so I guess that won’t work right, because I need to connect a keyboard to the Digitone via MIDI necessarily? Or is there a way to use the USB out to somehow i) power the controller, and ii) control the DN, maybe using some adaptors? I’m a bit of a newbie on all this routing/connecting business. Otherwise, if I need a MIDI out, I’ll get an Arturia. And I’ll take any recommendation on a 49 keys controller :slight_smile:

Thanks!

USB requires a “host” - a device that is the brains of the USB connections involved. Usually it’s a computer (or a tablet/phone), but there are some (a very small amount) standalone devices that can be a USB host too. Unfortunately the Digitone isn’t one of them.

So to use a USB keyboard with the Digitone, you’d need to use it via a computer (or tablet/phone/standalone host).

You could look into something like this:

I’ve no idea how well it would work for your proposed setup.

Otherwise you need to use the standard MIDI 5 pin DIN connection.

1 Like

I can suggest the Roland A49, which has a good synth-action and is very lightweight.
Some drawbacks : not a lot of controls + the mod wheel is a joystick that gets back to its initial position when you leave it.

It’s also a USB powered keyboard BUT there’s a trick to run it with a 5V adapter without a computer or USB host. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like

If you have a Raspberry Pi you can flash the following image that is setup as a USB MIDI router:

https://neuma.studio/rpi-as-midi-host.html