Digitakt? YES!

Hi to all,

First post here so I will start by saying hello :slight_smile:

I am not living from my music but I am serious about it.
I am a drummer who decided 25 years ago to take the road of “electronic” music. I started with turntables and D&B then slowly got interest in techno (minimalist).
5 years ago I decided to invest in equipment so as to be able to get where I am today: on the verge of owning a home studio (decent enough to produce, mix etc…).

I am now in the market for new hardware. Here is what I have for the moment:
MacBook Pro 8Go
MOTU UltraLite Mk3
PlayDifferently MODEL1
Yamaha MSP-5
Sub Temblor T10
Traktor + 2 x X1Mk2
Maschine +Jam
Arturia KeyStep
Korg Volca Kick
Korg Volca Bass
Korg Volca Keys
Mackie VLZ 1402 (all the hardware synths go through it)
Various effect pedals as effects SENDS for MODEL1
Also looking at other synths (Blofeld for FM, Behringer DeepMind 12)

I am (very) seriously looking at the Digitakt for the following reasons:
Ability to bypass my laptop for mixing live
Sound designing
Fun :slight_smile:

Maschine has served me well untill now but I would like more"hands on" when it comes to mixing live. Overall had enough of computers when it comes to live/jamming.

Digitakt then?

I have read the manual (always do this before buying new gear… Helps a lot), watched YT’s reviews, tests and demos… In the process of enquiring, I came across the Model Samples which seems furthermore “hands on” but to the sacrifice of 10 tracks, filter enveloppe etc…

Any advice would be more than welcome.

V

In terms of “mixing” live, it’s more of an audio pass through with it’s inputs when not using a computer so it’s not the best fit as a hub to run audio through. A digitakt and a little mixer (lots of solid options out there for relatively cheap) with the volcas being controlled by the digitakt via midi (either by midi clock or sequenced) would be a fun live rig in terms of what you already have.