Digitakt with Maschine?

Whats up everyone. Elektron newbie here and first time post. Im on the fence with the digitakt and im hoping i could get some convincing and reasons to buy the digitakt.

I make hip hop and I’ve been using the Maschine platform for about 10 years. I’m very familiar and comfortable with that workflow and don’t plan to depart from Maschine but I would like to start incorporating other gear into my current workflow. I know the maschine can already do most of what the digitakt is capable of but Im attracted to the Digi’s sequencing abilities and unique workflow. I’m trying to convince myself that i could benefit from the Digitakt but do you guys have any specific ideas of how the digitiakt could fit into my Maschine workflow? Thanks in advance.

-PT

You could easily control your VSTs instruments and effects from DT. P-Lock CC values, have DT being master or slave, resample the vast NI library that has come with your Maschine.
I use Maschine with Jam controller and still would not separate from either :slight_smile:
2 completely different workflows.
What Maschine hardware do you use?

I used to love adding the Maschine expansion sounds to my DT to make beats. Lots of goodies in there. As for sequencing I never found a real reason to use both, especially since both are mostly drum machines. Maschine can do a lot of the same per step automations/ p-locking, just not conditional sequencing (although this doesn’t really matter since Maschine isn’t limited to 4 bars.)

I basically used my Maschine for any at-the-desk beat making, and DT for couch/bed/travel beat making.

2 Likes

I was wondering about this…

…in a lot of ways Maschine does pretty much all of what the DT does, and it’s already in the box.

I love working on the DT - but it someways I think I’m just duplicating what I can already do with Maschine.

So, for you, given the functionality overlap of the two devices, you keep both - just to use in different environments?