DIGITAKT + ERM Multiclock (slave) transport launch late issues with Ableton as Master

Dear all,

Please help me with an issue with Digitakt when receiving midi from Multiclock which takes audio in signal from Ableton as master. I cannot figure this out!!!

Look at the following screenshot. digitakt, as you can see it starts late, as starting upon clicking space bar in Ableton, whereas my DFAM would start upon clicking spacebar Ableton.

I have checked settings, there is no countin in Ableton or Digitakt.

Audio input latency perhaps? Check your audio interface settings in Ableton. How do you have the ERM plugin setup in Ableton? Using it in an external effects send? Is the multiclock setup in POS/NEG mode? Is the MIDI channel that the DT is connected to set with timing delay on the associated knob?

Looks like “midi clock offset”, a setting in Ableton. I’m no expert, but this could be your problem.

ERM doesnt starts outputting midi clock till after hearing 1 bar (4beats) of the audio pulse from the VST plugin.

Unless you configure it in POS mode. Then there’s no preamble and it starts as soon as it hears the clock signal

2 Likes

Dear all, thank you for your reply.

I set up ERM plugin directly to output channel of my RME to ERM.

I have the setting set to POS. Its really strange as I have Beatstep Pro (DFAM) and Digitakt receiving the same audio-midi signal from Ableton via ERM. After a restart, somehow its working now lol

I am wondering about something else

I think i understand the input latency part as you can see from my screenshot, the beat is close to the 1.2 mark (metronome note), wonder if all of you ERM was able to get it to start exactly on the grid (1) with Ableton upon launching? Or such input latency is normal to you all. I realize no matter how much more - i add to the track delay of ERM plugin, it wouldn’t move forward for the last little bit of space between 1 and the first beat.